Tuesday’s Looking Forward: Best Men

It’s Tuesday … the second day where I am making a conscious decision to consider what I am looking forward to … this exercise is truly good for the soul.  Hope you are finding some inspiration with it, as well.

  • Monday: I am looking forward to being together as a family more often.
  • Tuesday: I am looking forward to seeing my sons stand for each other at their weddings.  

When I first found out I was pregnant with my second child, I immediately wished for a girl.  With a one year old boy already gracing our lives, I thought a girl would be a perfect balance to our household.

However, before I learned the sex of my second child, I saw two boys … two brothers playing at the playground.  They seemed to be best friends … kindred spirits … playmates.  In that moment, I thought to myself, “I might want a girl, but I think my son could use a brother.”  

When I found out I was having another son, I wasn’t disappointed … in fact, I looked forward to the bond of brotherhood that he would share with my eldest.

Today … when they are laughing with each other, playing with each other, and, yes, even when they are being mischievious with one another, my heart swells at their bond.  I hope their friendship continues in years to come and that they’ll always appreciate the special union between siblings.


8 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Looking Forward: Best Men

  1. seekraz says:

    It looks like my blog-friend is back…tentative steps, but here. So nice to see you again, Miss Questioningsoul.

    I am enjoying your “looking forward” series. Please believe me when I tell you that the idea has stuck in my head and caused me to ponder it repeatedly…driving to and from work yesterday…and today driving back from the park at lunch.

    I like your dreams so far, the things you want to happen.

    Thank you, Scott

    1. questioningsoul says:

      Hi Scott! Yes, I am trying to come back and write once more. I have missed writing and really needed to get back to it … to this little piece of me. It’s good to be writing again, though I am not sure how long I can keep it up.
      I love to hear that the looking forward series has made an impact on you. I hope you have rediscovered some of the things you are looking forward to.
      As always, thank you for reading and contributing!

      1. seekraz says:

        Hello again – so glad to see you and to be able to share in your thoughts on “paper.” You already know this, but each day here, on your blog, is another success and a step into affirming the habit of being here continually…as long as it’s something you want to do.

        And yes, the content did, and has stayed with me…still ruminating though, nothing but little everyday stuff is making it through the cogs.

        You are welcome…as always. 🙂

    1. questioningsoul says:

      Thank you! These mental choices are like exercise, aren’t they? Just as it is easy to let our “bodies go” by being unhealthy, we must also exercise our minds to prevent them from atrophy. I appreciate you reading and contributing.

Leave a comment